I’ve created a new category for posts with some connection to Asperger’s.  I wanted to include this unusual article from the Guardian G2 today, which takes Asperger’s Girls as its subject.

Here’s a small piece of the article, about the experience of Robyn Steward, one young woman with Asperger’s:

“Steward, though, is full of hope for the future. She understands her condition and is adamant that it gives her some advantages. Some women, she says, are just too focused on contact with other people and on the ins and outs of human relationships. “Relationships are important, but to be a really self-reliant individual you need to be the sort of person who can cope alone. I think autism gives you that self-reliance, and I think it makes me strong – it helps you know your own limits.””

“Some women, she says, are just too focused on contact with other people and on the ins and outs of human relationships” … Mmm.  I think I know what she means… I wish I didn’t sometimes.

 

