My husband and my neighbour read the article linked below, and thought I would like to read it too.  It’s an article from the Saturday Daily Telegraph about mothers who relieve their loneliness and boredom by blogging about their everyday activities.  I winced.  Is blogging really the self-indulgent navel gazing that this article suggests?  And do people really only visit my blog and leave comments to attract any readers I might have back to their blog, to push their own circulation up? 

Blogs are as different as the people who write them and are written for as many reasons.  Over the weekend I was amusing myself by drawing up a description of a blogger I’ve come across from the clues that have been left over various blogs.  I imagined I was a criminal psychologist, but it amused me to see that even those who think they reveal nothing personal about themselves leave us with a comprehensive profile that is often more detailed that the information we hold about many of our real life friends and acquaintances.  We are known by our writing.

Tamsin Kelly meets the blogging mothers who are finding fame, fortune and self-fulfilment by chronicling their experiences online

Caroline Davies is a mother of three, a Monmouthshire farmer’s wife who runs her own party bag business. But to her friends in cyberspace she’s a blogger known as Frog. Writing regular online diary dispatches about motherhood is her escape from everyday life.

“I can say what I like and be what I want to be,” says Davies.

“No one’s judging you because you have sick on your skirt or haven’t brushed your hair, but purely on your wit and writing. If I was meeting friends for coffee, I’d be more reserved, but online there’s a lot more banter and fun.

“Blogging has given me a whole new social network. I’m planning to meet up with another mum blogger I’ve become really friendly with. My only problem is how do I explain to my teenaged daughter I’m planning to meet someone I met on the internet?”

More here.

