Take a glass of water, and spill into it a spoonful of sugar.  The sugar will dissolve in the water to make a syrup so that its crystals may no longer be seen and it and the water are one.  But heat the water until it boils, and evaporate it away, and the sugar will be left as before.

Again, take a glass of water.  Cool it until it freezes.  The water changes from a liquid to a solid, but only until it thaws.  Then it becomes water again.

Or take a candle and light it, holding it above the glass of water.  The wax around the wick melts and drips down the candle into the water, and becomes a solid again.

Take some clay, turn into into a pot and fire it.  The transformation of the clay is fixed. It will never, once it has been fired, become clay again.

Or take wheat ground into flour and bake it into a loaf of bread.  The loaf includes the flour, and the flour has become part of the bread.  Never again will it be flour.

Or the caterpillar that becomes a butterfly.

So it is with transformations.  Some are reversible, like the sugar solution, the ice, and the wax.  Others, once they have taken place can never be undone.

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!”

2 Corinthians Ch 5 v 17

That was the theme of this morning’s service in the church opposite my home.  It used to be my spiritual home for many years until the Toronto Blessing drove me reluctantly away and we retreated to a less challenging place.  It still feels like home, especially when Freda, a Church elder who never gets any older though she must be over eighty, hugged me, and called me by my name, and moved a strand of hair off my face.  I felt like the lamb that the shepherd stayed up all night for, and I wanted to cry.

