Merci au blog Chez Luc

I was there, you see, he was next to me.
We were six years old.
We were playing, like children do, at doctors,
At being doctors
I was there. I saw on his body the wounds, the marks, the bruises.
I didn’t believe my eyes,
My eyes.
And he who said to me “I’m a man.
You see those burns there on my arms?
I don’t feel them.
I don’t feel them.”
I was there. I said nothing.
And then I left his house.
If I had gone back?
Never again.
Never again.
I was there. Like him I was barely fifteen years old.
We were in the cellar of his parents’ house.
I loved him so much.
I have to say that he was good-looking, but he injected, my hero,
Heroin.
I was there when his mother came to tell me
“It’s over – his funeral is on Monday,
Monday.”
I cried. Of course, I cried,
Then I started hanging about outside again,
Outside.
I was there in October 1980, after the bomb in the rue Copernic*.
Yes, I was at the demonstration
With all my friends.
I was there. It’s true I didn’t understand what it was about
But we thought it was fun,
Fun.
Yes, I was there to help those with AIDS, those who had no papers.
I sang (shouted)
Sang.
Sure that I was there to celebrate!
And I raised my glass to those who had nothing.
Another glass: we can’t do anything.
I was there in front of my television at eight o’clock.
I saw the world turning itself upside down
Upside down
I was there. I knew everything about Somalia, Bangladesh, Rwanda.
I was there.
I saw what the North did to the South,
Include the despising.
I was there to count the dead.
I was there and I did nothing
And I did nothing
I was there, however.
I was there, and I did nothing.

*The Palestinian terrorist group, Abou Nidal, planted a bomb outside the synagogue on the rue Copernic in Paris. It exploded and 4 people were killed and 30 injured. It was timed to go off when everyone was due to leave the synagogue, but the worship had begun half an hour late that day. Had it begun on time there would have been hundreds of casualties.

 

Were you there when they crucified my Lord?
Were you there when they crucified my Lord?
Oh, sometimes it causes me to tremble, tremble, tremble.
Were you there when they crucified my Lord?

Were you there when they nailed him to the tree?
Were you there when they nailed him to the tree?
Oh, sometimes it causes me to tremble, tremble, tremble.
Were you there when they nailed him to the tree?

Were you there when they laid him in the tomb?
Were you there when they laid him in the tomb?
Oh, sometimes it causes me to tremble, tremble, tremble.
Were you there when they laid him in the tomb?

Were you there when God raised him from the tomb?
Were you there when God raised him from the tomb?
Oh, sometimes it causes me to tremble, tremble, tremble.
Were you there when God raised him from the tomb?

