I am a woman when I look in the mirror

I am a woman when I am opposite a man

I am a woman when I am shopping for clothes or food

I am a woman in a car salesroom

I am a mother when I am with my children

I am a mother when I am with other children

I am a mother when I miss my children

I am a mother when I want to be a lawyer

I am a mother when my friend has no children

I am a wife when I am with my husband

I am a wife when I talk about my husband

I am a wife when I look at my wedding ring or our children

I am English when I am opposite a Scottish Nationalist or an Anglophobe

I am British when I am abroad

I am British when I hear the national anthem

I am British when I am ashamed to be British

I am British when I am proud to be British

I am white when I am with someone who is black

I am a lawyer when I am at work

I am a lawyer when I read the newspaper

I am a mother when I watch the news

I am small when a woman is more than eight inches taller than me or a man more than 6’2″ tall

I am old when an adult is less than thirty

I am young when an adult is more than fifty

I am rarely a daughter or a sister

I am a Christian when someone else speaks about their faith or lack of it

I am kind when I think someone else is selfish

I am selfish when I do what I want to do

I am rich when someone worries about money

I am poor when someone flashes their wealth in my face

I am aware of my class when people let me know they think they are superior to me

I am ugly when a man says another woman is beautiful

I am beautiful when I am happy

